Skip to content

A New Ambition

January 22, 2011

I’m going to write a book. I’ve just decided this maybe forty minutes ago.

The suggestion came from a college friend of mine. She’s very kind, and has not only dealt with my constant reminders about this blog, but has already contribute an idea for a post; you’d know her as Jessica, from the blog post “By Request: Technology”.

I had mentioned to her that the latest blog post, On Honor, had gone up and was wondering what she had thought of her request post. Not only did she think the tech post was great, but she immediately told me she was looking forward to the newest post. Further, she was of the opinion I should write a book.

What?

You are, perhaps, as baffled by this suggestion as I was at the time. “That’s a bit much, don’t you think?”, I responded to her. “Nooooo” came her answer. Well. That was definitive.

It’s not to say I hadn’t considered the idea before. When I was younger I actually for a time was convinced that I would be a writer by profession. For a time, I told my parents of this aspiration, and helped form a small writer’s club.

But I didn’t really commit to it. I didn’t practice writing. What I really did was read a lot of books. So I abandoned the idea, and wrote for my schoolwork. Without bragging, it was actually fairly good writing. But I didn’t feel called to become a writer. My calling came in the form of psychology, and that’s the degree I’m earning here at the University, though I may pick up a double in Philosophy, so long as I’m here.

I’ve come back to writing, though, in this roundabout way. Because I am here, blogging. I’m here writing about things that mean… well, each means something to me, if not the world.

Jessica’s idea did intrigue me, though. I wasn’t immediately sure what to write a book about though, so when she responded with “everything”, it actually got the wheels in my mind turning.

No one writes a book about everything, though. It’s not feasible. Anyway, who am I to write about everything? That’s a bit much, even for an egotist such as myself.

I had an idea about everything, though. There’s a way to deal with everything on your own, and that’s the magic of a perspective, a world view, a mindset, all of those magical words.

Part of the idea came from the last blog post I’d written, a rehashing of my concepts of honor, honesty, etc. It came to me that there is a certain ideal I have in my head that I strive to adhere to. It’s my personal concept of the Modern Man, which for me is a lot like the older concept of the Renaissance Man.

So. The tentative title for this book is “Living as the Modern Man: The New Millenium’s Renaissance Man”. It should be fairly easy to grasp the concept. I’m another one of those guys with the idea that I can improve both society and personal lives by detailing the ideal concept that I’m working towards. I think the title’s clumsy, but I love the idea. I love it a lot. I’m blogging here both to get interest raised and to keep myself honest, much the way dieters will inform their friends and family members of their new diet. I want to keep myself honest and dedicated to this effort, because I have the feeling that it will be easy to get sidetracked, and that’s the last thing that I want for this book. It’s very quickly become my pet project, and I aim to see it through to the end.

I hope I have your support, and as always I’d appreciate your comments, suggestions, and questions! Take care.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. chris permalink
    January 23, 2011 12:16 am

    Interesting, never pegged you as an aspiring writer, but hey, we’re all full of surprises. Your idea definiately has merit, and you would be uniquely qualified to write such a book (seeing how your studying to be a psychology major, and the philosophy major doesn’t hurt either.) So i say good luck to you with your project, I hope one day it comes to fruition.

    • January 23, 2011 2:46 am

      Thanks for the good wishes! And no worries about the misspell. Not only did I understand what you meant, but WordPress let me edit in the “u”! Fantastic.

  2. Anonymous permalink
    January 23, 2011 12:27 am

    Well, at least you admit you are narcissistic.

    And while, yes, in today’s contemporary society it does seem like any idiot can write a book and get published, I would hope you (having read so much in your youth) would not fall under such a ridiculous assumption.

    • January 23, 2011 2:42 am

      Well, that was negative. Thanks for submitting your opinion, but it would be more helpful if you had any constructive criticism to offer.

Leave a Reply

